Driving under influence is a charge given to people who drive a vehicle while being intoxicated. There are two types of driving under the influence charges: DUIs and DWIs. DUIs are given to drivers with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. Driving While Impaired charges, or DWIs, are given to drivers who have a BAC below 0.08, but are still showing signs of impairment. If you refuse to take a BAC test when you are pulled over by a police officer, you can be given a DWI charge. Drivers can also be charged with a DWI if they are driving while on a controlled substance.
DUI comes under criminal law and that’s why you must avail the services of one of the top criminal lawyers in Maryland. Using the services of a local Maryland criminal lawyer is highly recommended as they will be able to make the best use of the various clauses in the local laws to help you get relief if you are charged with DUI, rightly or wrongly.
Working with us for your DUI Case
If you’ve been charged with a DUI or a DWI, it’s vital that you seek out legal representation. A drug offense lawyer can help you understand the charges that have been brought against you, and they can give you in-depth explanations of the DUI and DWI laws in Maryland.
The law offices of Rowena N. Nelson, LLC is the best choice for legal help for DUI and DWI cases. We have years of experience working criminal law cases, including DUI and DWI cases. Our experienced team of lawyers is dedicated to giving our clients the best possible representation in the courtroom, and we’ll also help answer any questions you may have about your case. We’re here to help you.
If you need legal representation for a DUI case, Contact Us by phone or by using our contact form. We’ll immediately set up an appointment to discuss your unique case.
DUI Laws in Maryland
If you are given a DUI or DWI charge in Maryland, your license may be immediately suspended for a ten-day period. During this ten day period, you or your attorney must contact the Maryland Office of Administrative hearings to request a hearing. If you do not request this hearing during the ten-day period, your license may be suspended until your trial. Maryland also has an Implied Consent Law. This law states that if you are pulled over on a suspected DUI, and refuse to consent to a breathalyzer test, your license can be suspended for up to 120 days.
In Maryland, the maximum penalties for DUIs are:
- $1,000 fine
- Up to a year in jail
- Raised insurance premiums
- Driver’s license suspension
Having a DUI can also result in points being added to your license and confiscation of your license for a period of time.
The penalties for DWIs are slightly less stringent than the ones for DUIs. For your first DWI conviction, the penalties may be:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- A fine of $500
For your second DWI conviction, the penalties are:
- Up to one year in jail
- A fine of $1000 dollars
To learn more about DUI and DWI laws in Maryland, Call Us. We’ll be happy to answer all of your questions.